Do you cut cats nails?

No, you should not cut a cat's claws. They have a specific shape which will be messed up by cutting, causing the claw to fray and be uncomfortable. Cats claws remain sharp by outer layers being rubbed off. We say the cat is sharpening his or her claws. Provide a scratching post for the purpose.