What is the c. n. o. canal?

It's actually the C and O canal. It's a canal along the Potomac River from Washington DC to Cumberland Maryland which operated from 1831 to 1924 to get coal from the Allegheny mts to Washington via barges. C and O stands for Chesapeake and Ohio.