What are belly buttons for?

a belly button is a scar left after the umbilical cord of an infant is cut and the remaining stump falls off.

---

Your belly button is what's left of the connection between your body and your mother's body while you were inside her womb before you were born. The umbilical cord connects a baby to its mother before birth. When that falls off after birth, the scar is called the belly button.