What kind of animal is a koala?

The koala or, inaccurately, koala bear, is an arboreal herbivorous marsupial native to Australia. its closest living relatives are the wombats.

---

Classification. Koalas are a type of mammal called marsupials. They are so different from any other marsupial, however, that they have been classified into their own family, called Phascolarctidae