How do you get fortune in minecraft?

In Minecraft, Fortune can be placed on any pickaxe, axe, hoe, or shovel by paying a visit to an enchanting table. Once at the table, players have the opportunity to put the enchantment on an appropriate item by expending experience and a bit of lapis lazuli.