Tell me the history of waffles?

Waffles have been a long-standing staple in American breakfasts, they're also one of the oldest desserts in history. The breakfast pastries can be traced all the way back to Greece. The Greeks used to cook hotcakes between two metal plates, which were technically the first waffle iron.