Are people from puerto rico american citizens?

Yes, persons born in Puerto Rico were born outside of the United States but still considered U.S. citizens. It wasn't until 1940 that Congress enacted legislation conferring birthright, or "jus soli," (right of soil) citizenship on persons born in Puerto Rico