When were pop hits made?

Pop is short for popular. So popular music has been made as long as people have played and sung depending on their era. Hits as you would define them would have started with the likes of Sam Philips of Sun records with Johnny Cash Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis etc and gone from there.