Why do people get hiccups?

Hiccups are bursts of inspiratory activity. Most simple cases of hiccups come after eating or drinking too much or too quickly. The stomach, which is situated right below the diaphragm, becomes distended and irritates it. This causes the diaphragm to contract, as it does when we breathe in.