Do ants eat dirt?

Ants are cleaners: they eat and help decompose organic matter in the soil, enriching the soil. Ants also eat pest insects such as fleas, fly larvae, and termites. ... Large ant nests in the middle of the garden are a concern; these ants may be eating young plants and cultivating insect pests.