What happened to opie's mother in the andy griffith show?

In the backdoor pilot episode from The Danny Thomas Show, viewers learn Andy lost Opie's mother when the boy was "the least little speck of a baby." ... Andy was referred to as a widower several times in the show which would indicate that Opie's mother died and that she did not leave Andy and Opie.