Is corn flour the same as cornmeal?

No they aren't. While cornmeal and corn flour are both made from milled, dried corn, they differ in texture. Cornmeal feels gritty, while corn flour is fine and smooth. The degree of milling determines the texture of the flour: corn flour is finely ground, while cornmeal is coarsely ground.