What's the difference between yogurt and pudding?

Pudding is thickened with products added to the milk, such as corn starch. Yogurt is thickened by the by-products produced during lacto-fermentation. You don't add thickeners to milk to make yogurt. You add bacteria to the milk for Yogurt.