Why is there a pineapple on top of the wimbledon trophy?

One theory is that it has to do with the tradition of British navy captains putting a pineapple on top of their gateposts after returning from sea. More likely is that in the 17th century, pineapples were a sought after commodity and having one meant you had achieved a certain social status.