How do you get rid of calluses on your hand?

Soaking your hands or feet in warm, soapy water softens corns and calluses. This can make it easier to remove the thickened skin. Thin thickened skin. During or after bathing, rub a corn or callus with a pumice stone, nail file, emery board or washcloth to help remove a layer of toughened skin.