When did air conditioning become a thing?

The first modern air conditioner was invented in 1902 by Willis Haviland Carrier, who later started the company in his name. Cooling has been a thing since the second century China where fans were used. It also drew the interest of Benjamin Franklin who conducted cooling experiments in 1758.