What is an adjudicated ballot?

Some ballots returned have something wrong with them; usually the issue is inconsequential, a bubble not fully marked, votes 4 both candidates or ballots with a folded corner. Those ballots are flagged & presented to an impartial group from both parties & election officials to determine voter intent