What happened to smurf on animal kingdom?

Spoiler alert! During the fourth season of the TNT series Animal Kingdom, the character Janine 'Smurf' Cody, played by Ellen Barkin, was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Wanting to go out on her own terms, she started a gunfight ending in her death. She was killed by her grandson, Joshua 'J' Cody.