How did freddy krueger become freddy krueger?

Freddy is introduced as "Fred Krueger" in A Nightmare on Elm Street, a child killer from a fictitious Ohio town, Springwood, who kills his victims with a bladed leather glove he crafted in a boiler room where he used to take his victims.