Why isnt pluto planet?

According to Universe Today, astronomers have been finding other objects near Pluto the same size, and a few even larger, for the last several decades. Based on all of the current evidence, in 2006 the General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union voted to declare Pluto a "dwarf planet."