What does sanguine mean?

The word sanguine describes a person who is cheerful or optimistic. Oddly, sanguine is the Latin word for blood. It was once thought that people with red or ruddy complexions were naturally cheerful or optimistic. This Latin word for bloody eventually came to mean cheerful or optimistic.