What's the difference between a barber shop and a salon?

Stylists specialize in using scissors for cutting hair that tends to be a finger width or longer (although they can certainly use clippers for some things). Barbers specialize in using clippers on very short hair and are particularly skilled at things like creating flattops, fades and designs.