Is ring around the rosie a death song?

Yes! Ring a Ring o Roses, or Ring Around the Rosie, is said to be about the 1665 Great Plague of London: the “rosie” being the smellymalodorous rash that developed on the skin of bubonic plague sufferers, the stench of which then needed concealing with a “pocket full of posies”.