Why does corn have corn silk?

When the male gamete in the pollen lands on the tassel of the corn and the male gamete travels down the silk to the kernel where it fertilizes the ovule in the kernel. EACH kernel of corn on the ear has its own silk therefor each kernel is pollenated by a separate pollen grain.