Who created chicken and dumplings?

In 1879 Marion Cabell Tyree shared a recipe for adding chicken into her dumpling dish in her cookbook, Housekeeping in Old Virginia. The book includes two recipes for stewed chicken, one of them including rolled dumplings dropped in broth.