How bad is the winter storm?

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration attributed 571 deaths to winter storms in the United States from 1996 to 2011. Researchers at the University of Georgia found traffic and plane crash related deaths in the same time frame, increased the count to about 923 per year.