Are there camels in the united states?

Commercial shipments totaling as many as four hundred camels (eclipsing the government's meager numbers) arrived in Texas, Alabama and California, but the West was won on horseback and camels never gained a foothold. Today America is home to roughly three thousand camels, most in private hands.