Is ultra h. d. the same as four k.?

No. Ultra High Definition, or UHD for short, is the next step up from what’s called full HD, the official name for 1920 by 1080 resolution. UHD quadruples that resolution to 3840 by 2160, but it’s not 4K, which is 4096 by 2160 — and yet almost every TV or monitor advertised as 4K is actually UHD.

---

Not always. UHD is short for Ultra HD. In the display market, UHD is 3840x2160 pixels (exactly four times HD), and 4K is often used interchangeably to refer to that same resolution. To complicate matters, newer 8K displays are also called UHD, or UHD-2. They have four times more pixels than a 4K TV.