What's the difference between h. i. v. one and h. i. v. two?

Most people living with HIV have HIV 1. Both types weaken the immune system, but HIV 2 tends develop more slowly and is less transmittable than HIV 1. Genetic differences between the two viruses means that there are differences in how healthcare providers diagnose and treat HIV 1 and HIV 2.