What does it mean when your skin is purple?

Purple skin may come from several sources, generally from dilation of blood vessels in the skin. This may occur naturally as in a birthmark or mechanical constriction of blood flow or vasoconstriction from exposure to extreme cold. Or skin can be stained purple from dyes, such as beet juice.