How long was the mosasaurus?

The longest mosasaurs, based on a specimen of Mosasaurus hoffmanni, are estimated to have been 17 metres (about 56 feet) in length, but the most common forms were no larger than modern porpoises. Mosasaurs had a snakelike body with a large skull and a long snout.