Who is teddy pendergrass?

Teddy Pendergrass was a Black American soul singer based in Philadelphia. He was the lead singer of Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes and went on to a solo career. He is best known for his deep, soulful and romantic voice and the intimately provocative love songs he sang.