How did elon musk make his money?

Musk made his first fortune as a cofounder of PayPal.

---

He co-founded (with his brother Kimbal) Zip2, a web software company, which was acquired by Compaq for $340 million in 1999. Musk then founded X.com, an online bank which merged with Confinity in 2000; Confinity launched PayPal in 1999 and purchased by eBay for $1.5 billion in October 2002.