What was the first potato chip?

The potato chip was invented in 1853 by George Crum a chef at a resort in Saratoga Springs, New York. One day a diner complained that the French Fries were too thick. Crum experimented and finally made fries that were too thin to eat with a fork. Customers were happy potato chips were invented!