Why did the english have bad teeth?

British culture is just not as focused on orthodontic dentistry. They get free basic dental care but pay out of pocket for orthodontics. Studies suggest British maintain quality dental hygiene equal to most modern countries including USA, Canada, Australia and some EU countries.