Which hurricane cause the most damage?

Hurricanes cause damage in proportion to their size, strength, and location. In dollar value, Hurricane Katrina in 2005 was the most damaging because it was large, strong, and hit an area where there was a lot of developed property to damage. The damage was estimated at $160 billion.