Why doesn't stainless steel rust?

Stainless steel has the ability to resist rusting thanks to the interaction between its alloying components. Stainless steel 304 the most common includes 18% chromium and 8% nickel. 316 is composed of 16 to 18% chromium, 10 to 14% nickel, 2 to 3% molybdenum, small percentage of carbon.