Who invented pineapples?

Pineapples originated in Brazil and Paraguay in South America. They were first discovered by Europeans in 1493 on the Caribbean islands of Guadeloupe. By the 16th century, Portuguese and Spanish explorers introduced pineapples into African and South Pacific colonies, where they still grow today.