How many different types of soda are there?

While there are many flavors of soda, there are certain styles that we have come to know and rely on. This is particularly true for mixed drinks, where we generally categorize soda into 7 categories: soda water, club soda, tonic water, ginger ale, ginger beer, lemon-lime soda, cola, and root beer.