Does fruit need high or low humidity?

LOW HUMIDITY Many fruits, from apples and pears to stone fruit and melons, give off high levels of a gas called ethylene that speeds up the ripening process. The open vent in the low humidity setting allows the gas to escape, which prevents the fruits from going to the rotten stage too quickly.