How many satellites are in orbit?

There are 4987 satellites currently in orbit around Earth. When including satellites around other celestial bodies, the number is 4994.

---

As per the last count by the Index of Objects Launched into Outer Space, maintained by the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs, there were 4 987 satellites orbiting the Earth at the start of the year 2019, with another 7 satellites orbiting other celestial bodies, totaling at 4994 objects.