What's the substitute for paprika?

One of the most readily available substitute for paprika is tomato or tomato paste which is a good substitute for color and presentation, however the flavor will be different. A dash of chili powder or any standard hot sauce will be a good supplement to get a hint of paprika's smoky-sweet flavor

---

Cayenne or chili powder can be a substitute for color though cayenne is a bit hotter.