How was valentine's day made?

the holiday has origins in the roman festival of Luprcalia, held in mid February. the festival celebrated the coming of spring and included fertility rites and the pairing of women and men by lottery. at the end of the 5th century, Pope Gelasius I replaced Lupercalia with St valentines day.