What is in a mortal jellyfish?

The immortal jellyfish, Turritopsis dohrnii, is a tiny, 4.5 cm creature that lives in tropic waters. In response to injury, it undergoes transdifferentiation, reverting from adult medusa form back to polyp form, and then producing new medusae that are genetically identical to the injured adult.