Why was lady jane gray only queen for nine days?

Lady Jane Grey was queen for just nine days, as part of an unsuccessful bid to prevent the accession of the Catholic Mary Tudor. On 19 July, just nine days after she had been proclaimed queen, Jane was overthrown in Mary’s favour.