Is kate middleton a commoner?

Since the royal engagement of Prince William and Kate Middleton, one word describing wife of Prince William has stood out more than any other. She may be beautiful, graceful and rich, but Middleton is still a “commoner.” Technically, the label fits. Kate is a commoner, but a wealthy one.