Do bananas belong in the fridge?

bananas will turn brown in the refrigerator, potentially become bitter. They will also not ripen. However, they can be stored once ripe for a short amount of time. Be careful, if you leave them in too long, it could ruin the items in your fridge and make them taste like bananas.