Where do wolf spiders live?

Nocturnal ground hunters (they do not spin webs to catch prey), wolf spiders can be found in open grasslands and fields, suburban backyards, wooded areas, wet coastal forests, and in vegetation along streams, lakes and marshes. Wolf spiders will sometimes burrow in the ground.