Who sang funkytown?

A songwriter and producer named Steven Greenburg wrote the song when he became bored with Minneapolis and wanted to move to New York, which he called "Funkytown." Lipps Inc. was formed especially for this song. The vocals were by Cynthia Johnson, who was Miss Black Minnesota 1976.