What cause the fall of the soviet union?

Mikhail Gorbachev enacted the reforms of Glasnost, which reduced state oppression, and Perestroika, which opened the Soviet economy to private ownership. At about the same time, Gorbachev exited the arms race due to US military buildup. These changes led to the splintering of the Soviet government.